Green Pear Smoothie and a Mac&Cheese Review!

Hi all!

I Started the day off right with a tasty green smoothie!

Recipe:

Two handfuls of spinach

One banana

8-10 1-inch chunks frozen watermelon

1/4 frozen peach

1 pear (I used green anjou)

1 Scoop BodyLogix Chocolate Vegan Protein Powder  (http://www.bodylogix.com/canada/vegan-protein/)

Almond milk to taste

I always put the spinach in my blender first (unless I forget and put the banana in before that… like this time) so that it has time to blend up pretty well.

Smoothie Prep

Toss in whatever you can fit to start, add a bit of almond milk, and blend! Once it’s chopped up decently and takes up less space, throw in anything you couldn’t fit. (I’m using a Ninja, which has blades that take up a lot of space. If you have a blender with blades just in the bottom, you should have no trouble.)

I don’t have a Vitamix, but the Ninja does pretty well with spinach or kale if you give it enough time. Keep going until you’re satisfied with the smoothness! Add more almond milk to get the consistency to you liking, and BAM. Vegan smoothie.

Imagine this a bit more green, and that's it!

A word on the BodyLogix Vegan Protein Powder- I subscribe to VeganCuts.com (a really great way to get a sampling of vegan products for a great price delivered to your door every month-check it out!) and received a sample. This was the first one that didn’t end up grainy in my smoothies, so I’m sticking with it! I’ve only tried a couple of others, but so far I like this one best.


And for dinner…

Vegan Mac and Cheese

I didn’t have time to cook today- long drive out to the city, but I stopped at Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s (two places I have nowhere near me) and stocked up. While I was in Whole Foods, I came across a Mac and Cheese I hadn’t tried before. Now if you don’t know me, you’ll soon learn that I’m a sucker for trying vegan mac and cheeses. If I were to name one thing that I miss as a vegan, it would have to be Mac and Cheese. If I see one, I’ll usually pick it up and try it.

This is the review part. (Now you get the clever title of the blog, yeah? It’s showy, but also a review? No? Okay, we’ll move on.)

This is Candle Cafe’s Vegan Macaroni & Vegan Cheese. The coloring was pretty spot on in my opinion, the look and consistency were great! The taste was impressive for a vegan cheese. I wouldn’t go so far as to say it’s like dairy, but it’s pretty decent! There was a moment there where I forgot it was vegan, but I guess I wasn’t really thinking about it in the moment. But hey. Tasty nonetheless.

Here’s some more info about it: http://www.candlecafefoods.com/prod-macaroni-vegan.php

Well, that’s it for me today. I was gifted some fennel and butternut squash today, though. We’ll see what tomorrow holds in store.

Comment below if you’ve found a satisfactory Vegan Mac and Cheese or if you’re a Green Smoothie Consumer, I’d love to hear about it.

-Peter

Leave a Reply

