Fennel and Butternut Squash Pizza on Focaccia!

Today I used some groceries given to me to create something new without a visit to the grocery store! Always exciting.

Let’s get started!

Recipe:

1 recipe focaccia bread  (find it here: http://www.crunchycreamysweet.com/one-hour-skillet-focaccia-recipe-card/)  See note below.

1 bulb fennel

1 small butternut squash

1/2 small red onion

Olive Oil

(Additional pizza items if preferred- I used a Tofurky Chick’n and Apple sausage, a leftover spoonful of the garlic sauce from this recipe:  http://www.veganricha.com/2014/09/buffalo-chickpea-pizza-white-garlic-sauce-celery-ranch-vegan-recipe.html, Follow Your Heart Mozzarella cheese, and roasted garlic.)

To prepare:

Chop fennel into 1/2 inch slices. Peel butternut squash and cut off at base. We’ll be using the top half, so save the round for a future use (I just gave you license to make another squash dish! Be excited!) and slice into 1/2 inch slices and then chop how you like, I made multiple sizes for variety (see the photo). Chop the onion into inch squares.

(A note about sizes- don’t stress. I don’t know what I’m talking about, cut them how you want to! Just try to make sure they’re vaguely uniform.)

Follow the recipe for the dough. While it’s in the oven the first time, toss the squash in a skillet and cook with a tablespoon of olive oil for five minutes. Add the fennel and onion, and saute until soft, about 10-15 minutes.

When your dough has risen, pull it out of the oven and press down in the center area, forming a crust around the edges. Lightly coat in olive oil and layer on your toppings. Toss in the oven and cook for 15-20 minutes until the crust is browning and, well, it look like you want to eat it. Trust me, it won’t be long.

Eat it.

*Note: Consider splitting the dough between two pizzas. Mine turned out in a very deep dish style, which is great if that’s what you want, but if you’re accustomed to thin crust pizzas, it may be too much.


My story

So my mother ended up with some extra fennel yesterday and asked if I would like any. As I had just started this blog, I figured a new challenge would be good! She dropped it off along with some butternut squash and I started looking for ideas. The internet is certainly great for recipes! I saw some things on MinimalistBaker.com, BevCooks.com, and OhSheGlows.com, some of my favorite sites. I rolled some of these into one and there it was! An idea!

VeggiesCreate the dough!Lined DoughVeggies

I really think that the additions of garlic sauce, roasted garlic, and a dusting of cheese will give it more shape and add to the sweet licorice taste of the fennel and the creaminess of the squash. I ended up doing half garlic sauce and half olive oil, and then put cheese and sausage on half of each! It turned out quite well in that I was able to taste it every way. I’m not saying that I ate the whole thing in one sitting. I got up to refill my plate.

PreBake!Baked!

If I make this recipe again, I’ll definitely halve the crust. It was tasty, but probably a bit too much like bread with stuff on it and less like pizza. If you want a classic Bread ‘N Stuff, though, go full throttle. SlicesAlso, the whole dish could have benefited from some spices in there with the sauteed veggies. You’ll learn this about me- sometimes I go for basics in spices. I’m still figuring out what goes well together.

Well there’s my brand new, very own recipe! Well, mostly. Ignore that crust part and it’s all mine.

Try it yourselves! Anybody like Bread ‘N Stuff? Or a quick skillet pizza? Let me know what you think in the comments below!

-Peter

2 thoughts on “Fennel and Butternut Squash Pizza on Focaccia!

Leave a Reply

