Green Beans and EB Mac&Cheese!

Tonight I threw something together to save some time, but it was pretty tasty!

Recipe:

Ingredients:

For the Mac&Cheese:

Earth Balance Vegan Mac and Cheese (Click for link)

2-3 tablespoons Nutritional Yeast

1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon Garlic Powder

1 tablespoon Dijon Mustard

Small handful of Vegan Mozzarella (I used Follow your Heart brand)

1-2 tablespoons Bread Crumbs

For the green beans:

PF Changs Spicy Green Beans (Also click for link!)

For this, I used thai chili peppers rather than the flakes it suggests. I just diced three or four them and threw them in.

Procedure:

Make the mac and cheese according to the package until you drain the pasta. Okay, so that’s just boiling the pasta.

Correction: Boil the pasta. While that’s happening, start on the green beans. I got everything chopped, the sauce put together, and cooked the first pass of the green beans (the steaming) before my pasta finished. Then get on that cheese sauce!

Two tablespoons vegan butter into the pot, let it melt, then add four tablespoons vegan milk, and then the cheese powder! You’re going to whip up a creamy sauce before adding the noodles back in. Add the nooch, the mustard, and the garlic powder. Stir it all together and let it thicken. Add the pasta back in and cook that for a few minutes until the pasta is just starting to stick to the bottom of the pan. This will keep it thick and creamy. Scoop it into an oven proof bowl or baking dish and add a sprinkling of mozzarella cheese on top, the breadcrumbs, and a grind or two of black pepper. Set your oven to High Broil and toss it in. Keep a close eye on it- you want it to brown and crisp, not burn and char.

While that’s browning to perfection, finish the green beans. Then eat!


My story:

As we all know, mac and cheese has been a long time favorite. Yada yada yada. I liked the Earth Balance brand, but I felt like it needed something else. Last time I made this, I threw some of the extra ingredients in but didn’t bake it, and I thought it turned out well! I think the final touch was adding that crispiness on top. Next time I make it, though, I think I’m going to actually bake it at 350° for fifteen minutes to get the inside matching a bit more. Maybe I’ll add some mozzarella in with the sauce too!

IMG_6934

A side note: with this recipe, I didn’t measure anything. The butter, the milk, the soy sauce, nothing. I made approximations. As for the additions to the mac, I added new things and then approximated what I had added. I think the way to get better at cooking is to try things and not be afraid of what might happen. That’s not to say that half a cup of garlic powder would be the best idea, but I guess you could try it! I hope you’re making your own variations to my recipes too!

As for the green beans, I was looking for a recipe I’ve used in the past but couldn’t find it in the first fifteen seconds (not that I’m impatient or anything. At all.), so I tried a new one. I’m not sure it was my favorite. The taste was fine, though the chili flavor was maybe a bit overpowering, but the texture wasn’t how I imagined it. I’ll try to find that other recipe and get back to you sometime with one I really like.

AND ALSO: if you went vegan, did you feel like you were giving up Jell-o? If you didn’t go vegan, do you feel like you’d miss Jell-o? You’d just have to put up with Agar Agar and hope for the best? (Not to knock Agar, I just haven’t had the best experiences with it yet. Here’s hoping for the future!) I’m here to tell you that your days of Jel Desserts are not over. I found a version that I’m liking! Thanks to my friend Noel, I’ve experienced something that is awfully close! The brand is Naturally Delish- give it a shot sometime.

Jel Dessert!

Have you tried a new mac&cheese recipe? (You’ll see this question a lot.) I want to hear about it! And let me know if you try this one! Throw something my way in the comments section.

Hey. Thanks for visiting.

-Peter

One thought on “Green Beans and EB Mac&Cheese!

Leave a Reply

