Roasted Brussels Sprouts

I wanted a quick and tasty vegetable tonight: Perfect!

Recipe:

Brussels Sprouts Recipe

Added Ingredients:

Nutritional Yeast

Mozzarella Cheeze

Procedure:

Prepare this just like the recipe says, omitting the Parmesan and (oh shoot, I just realized that I forgot this) the balsamic vinegar. I’m sure that would be great, but I didn’t add it.

Add 1-2 tablespoons of nutritional yeast when mixing all together before baking.

Before your final turn of the sprouts, when you think they look just about done, sprinkle a little bit of Mozzarella cheeze, maybe one tablespoon, onto the top to let it melt and mix in. Cook for an additional 1-2 minutes.

Stir and enjoy!


My Story:

I was headed home late tonight after a meeting and wanted to pick up something healthy to toss together for dinner. I wandered around the grocery produce section until Brussels Sprouts caught my eye. When I was younger I was never too excited about them; maybe that was because people always talked about them being gross, but I never really remember even tasting them! (I also never knew there was an ‘s’ at the end of Brussels, but the idea that it probably originated in Brussels clarifies that question for me!)

Flash forward to a few months ago when I saw them on sale and decided “what the heck!” They were quite tasty! I’ve had them a few different ways now, but I think I like this one the best. The nooch gives it a nutty flavor that complements the sprouts well and the cheeze… well, if you’ve been following my blog recently you know that I’m adding cheeze to many dishes. (And yes, I’m using the ‘z’ in that word to differentiate between dairy cheese and vegan cheeze.) Believe me, though, if you don’t go overboard on the cheeze, it’ll be quite tasty.

IMG_7075Brussels Sprouts!

Now, the recipe says it will serve three to four people. In my opinion, it serves one. My bowl is clean, completely. I’ll definitely be making this recipe again. It’s a fairly light, warm, and delectable dish that will always make me clean my plate.

Anybody like Brussels sprouts? If you don’t (and somehow found this page by mistake), I say try it anyway and let me know! Have another favorite way to cook ’em up? let me know in the comments and your recipe just might be featured down the line!

Be on the lookout for a dessert, a breakfast, and a vegan staple coming up in the next few days.

As always, thanks for reading!

-Peter

3 thoughts on “Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Leave a Reply

