Cashew Butter Jar Cake!

Peanut Butter Cup? Meet Cashew Butter Jar Cake, your older brother.

Recipe:

Chocolate Cake Recipe

Additional Ingredients:

3/4 cup raw cashew (or cashew pieces)

2-3 cups powdered sugar

1 tablespoon non-dairy milk (I used almond)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Handful semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used Guittard brand.)

Procedure:

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Gather several jars (I used 6 jars plus two baking ramekins). You’re looking for something with a wide mouth to make it easier to eat. Pickle jars are great (be sure to remove the pickles), pint sized mason jars will work just fine too (remove the pint sized masons).

Prepare the cake batter according to the directions, but not proceeding to put the cake in pans.

Pour cake batter into medium sized bowl and rinse/dry stand mixing bowl and paddle attachment. We’re about to use them again. Don’t have a stand mixer? Just replace the words “stand mixing bowl” with “large bowl” and “paddle attachment” with “incredibly strong arms armed with a wooden spoon.” Don’t worry, you can do it. I believe in you.

Pour cashews into a food processor and process until you have a creamy cashew butter. Transfer cashew butter into your stand mixer and add the non-dairy milk and vanilla extract. Mix to combine and then, with the paddle attachment turning, slowly add one cup of powdered sugar. Continue to add more sugar until you get a pliable (but not sticky to the touch) ball. Divide this ball into eight sections (one for each jar), and roll into smaller balls.

Begin spooning cake batter into your jars. I filled each with about an inch of batter, but you may do more or less depending on the size of your jars. Drop one Cashew Butter Ball into each jar and use the remaining cake batter to cover it. Don’t fill past 3/4 of the jar or it’ll overflow.

Place on a rimmed baking sheet with half an inch of water (I put the jars on first and filled water around them) and carefully put into the oven. Set your timer for 20 minutes. It will likely take longer, but depending on the size of the jar, you will want to be on top of it. Be careful with the boiling water surrounding the jars.

When the timer rings, check each cake with a toothpick to see if it comes out clean. If so, place about half the chocolate chips needed to cover the top in the jar and return to the oven for one minute.

When they’re all done, spread the chocolate around the top and let cool.

Then break in through the chocolate and devour.


My story:

At some point last year I had made some cookies from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar that had a lovely peanut butter center. (These would be the Chocolate Peanut Butter Pillows for all of you following along at home. For anyone not following along, I suggest you go out and buy this book right now. For your convenience: here is a link. You’ll thank me later.)

ANYWAY, I was making these cookies when I really wanted chocolate cake. And I had a thought. Peanut butter cups are tasty. Chocolate cake is tasty. I should make chocolate cake peanut butter cups! I could have gone the standard cupcake style route, but I had been saving all of these jars of varying sizes and this seemed like the perfect use! I could seal them up after they had cooled and pass ’em around without worrying about getting cake everywhere! And thus the idea was born.

The first time I made them, it was definitely with peanut butter. When I went to make them this time, a happy accident occurred. While running late on the way home, I stopped by the store to grab some peanuts. Tossed them in my car, and arrived home. It suddenly occurred to me that I hadn’t checked the vegan-ness, so I looked. Gelatin. I know. Fortunately I had recently bought a pile of raw cashews. This would do!

It all went according to plan from there.

IMG_7004 IMG_7000  IMG_7014 IMG_7022IMG_7012

Be aware this chocolate cake is pretty rich. Tasty, definitely, but rich. Prepare yourself with a glass of almond milk. And try not to eat them all yourself. I know I had to get them out of the house quickly and I still ate… Several.

Stay tuned: I’m thinking about a contest related to the first responders to a post. I don’t know if it’ll come to fruition, but I just may be sending out some treats.

Be healthy!

-Peter

3 thoughts on “Cashew Butter Jar Cake!

Leave a Reply

