Raspberry Lemon Overnight Waffles

Recipe:

Basic Waffle Recipe

Additional ingredients:
Zest from one lemon (1-2 tablespoons)
One standard container of Raspberries
Two cups non dairy milk
Half cup vegan butter
Two vegan eggs (I used two flax eggs- calls for two tablespoons ground flax and six tablespoons water. You can also use Ener-g Egg Replacer, which I’ll be trying next time. I’ll report back.)

Procedure:
Swap milk for almond milk (or another non dairy)
Swap butter for melted Vegan butter (I used Earth Balance’s stick vegan butter- less measuring!)

Prepare waffles according to plan. When you hit the step where you mix in the flour, mix in half the raspberries and all of the lemon zest. Try to mash those raspberries in to get the flavor to consume the batter.

My house is a chilly place in the winter, so I put the bowl in my oven with the light on overnight to let it rise.

In the morning, mix in the rest of the ingredients and toss it in your waffle maker!

Note: to make the flax eggs gel properly, mix the flax and water together and let it sit in the fridge for fifteen minutes. I always let it sit while I’m in the shower so I don’t have to wait!

Feast.

LINE

My story:

I purchased a waffle maker last year and tried out several different variations of waffles. There was a pretty tasty blueberry cornmeal one online, a basic one, but then I found this. The rising overnight on this one gives it a light crispy outside (who doesn’t love that little crunch?) and a soft, somewhat chewy inside. Kind of heavenly. So thanks to TheKitchn for the recipe.

I’ve tried a few different flavors of this (fresh peanut butter with maple syrup, Maya? Surprisingly good!) and this might be the one that was most exciting and a little bit different from what I’m used to.

I like to start these at ten or eleven pm when I realize “oh shoot. I don’t have anything quick for breakfast.” It really doesn’t take long to throw this together and then have freshly made, tasty waffles in the morning.

IMG_7093IMG_7096IMG_7126IMG_7130IMG_7135IMG_7143

Like I mentioned in the recipe, I’ve been making these with flax eggs. I think it’s important to have fairly freshly ground flax to get it to gel correctly , so I use a little coffee grinder in the morning to grind up a couple of spoonfuls.

IMG_7106

IMG_7122

My sibling finally got me to try Ener-g in a couple of other things (thanks Valerie!) so this will be tried too. I’ve never had a problem with the flax, but who knows! Maybe it could be even better!

That’s it from the world of breakfast in VeganRevue land today. I need to find some more recipes, though, this is one of my top go to’s.

Do you have any exciting vegan breakfast recipes you want to share? Let me know in he comments below and you just may be featured on the blog!

Stay well,

-Peter

Leave a Reply

