Lah-Zan-Ya.

You, my friends, are in for a treat. Taste this!

Recipes:

Ricotta Cheese

Tomato Sauce (My favorite, I make it all the time.)

Parmesan Cheese

Lasagna Construction

Additional/Alternate Ingredients:

Vegan Cheeses (I used Follow Your Heart Mozzarella and Daiya Cheddar)

Veggie Ground (I used Trader Joes brand but I’ve also had great success with Helen’s Kitchen brand)

Procedure:

If you don’t already do this, I suggest starting out chopping and prepping everything so cooking goes smoothly. There are a lot of ingredients and recipes in this one, so be on top of your game. I’d give this a moderate difficulty just because you’re juggling so many things at once.

Press your tofu. I love this little guy: Tofu Xpress. Not very expensive and has saved me a lot of time and mess! (Thanks for the recommendation Tanya!)

Get started on your sauce and heat your veggie ground. While the tomatoes are cooking, throw together your Vegan Parmesan- it’s quick and you don’t even have to clean out your processor because you’re about to use it again!

When you finish the sauce, mix in the warmed veggie ground and set aside.

Mix up your Ricotta with your hands if you’re feeling adventurous (right McKenna?) but the back of a spoon is fine too. Just less fun. Throw a handful of each of your cheeses into this mix as well and you’re ready to assemble!

I suggest using a cast iron skillet for this- I tossed mine in the oven at 350° for about ten minutes after it was done to give it that crispiness on the top. Now the layering process is exciting. Try to get it to all fit in the skillet and not above (I was not successful) because you’re going to put a lid on it. (You read the whole recipe first, right? Whoops…)

I found that it took longer to cook than I expected, maybe half an hour. Then I threw it in the oven for a few minutes and FEASTED.

I think I ate about half of it. If you don’t want to eat more than a small piece, I suggest not tasting it.

Shopping List:

  • 1 (14-ounce) block extra firm tofu
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon tahini
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 5 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • Pinch of freshly ground nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon mellow white miso
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped shallot
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley (I forgot this, it was fine!)
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 large sweet onion or 1 small yellow onion, diced (about 1 cup)
  • 3 large tomatoes, seeded and diced (about 3 cups diced)
  • 3/4 cup fresh basil leaves, minced
  • 1/4 cup oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes (about 6)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt, to taste
  • Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • red pepper flakes, to taste (optional)
  • 1/2 cup toasted sesame seeds
  • 1 12 -ounce package frozen chopped butternut or winter squash, thawed
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh rosemary (I forgot this too, it was fine!)
  • Pinch of freshly grated nutmeg
  • 6 no-boil lasagna noodles
  • Vegan Cheeses- two handfuls

My Story:

Here’s the history of this recipe.

Today I was at the store, remembering that I had leftover squash from that pizza I made a week ago, and I needed to use it soon. A quick google search later, I had a recipe. Or, an amalgam of recipes. Anyway, grabbed a few things and headed home!

IMG_7246

I met a friend at my house as she needed a place to watch a live stream of our friend playing Roller Derby that night, so I cooked around her and a laptop in the kitchen. It was warm and nice to have company. Also- Go Smalls!

IMG_7233IMG_7228  IMG_7238 IMG_7241 IMG_7251  IMG_7253 IMG_7259

Everything went swimmingly until I snagged on the lid. My skillet lid that is supposed to fit anything between 8 and 12 inches does—If your cast iron skillet handle doesn’t extend upward. It sat at an angle and wouldn’t close to keep the heat in.IMG_7263

Eventually I turned over an air insulated cookie sheet that I received for Christmas (thanks Dad!) and put the warm tea kettle on top of it to keep it down. Definitely not the most elegant solution but it certainly worked.

I also threw my camera on the ground during this process, trying to take a quick picture. But that’s another story, nevermind. Anyway. Your father cried and… Have you all seen Into the Woods yet? No? Then moving on.

I quite enjoyed this meal, it gave me three more meals, and I’ll make it again. I think you should try it.Lah-Zan-Ya!

Have you made a lasagna like this? Have you made this one? If yes to either of these, comment below and tell me about it? Did you make other substitutions? Did you hate it? I want to know!

Also, if you have a recipe you’re not sure about and want someone else to make it first, I’m taking requests. Let me know and I’ll try to make it happen!

Be Healthy,

-Peter

.

Leave a Reply

