Parsnip Fries!

Baked Parsnip Fries.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

1 Parsnip.

Salt, pepper, olive oil.

Procedure:

Peel.

Slice.

Bake.

Simple, huh? That’s really all it is.

A little more for those of you who would like it:

Preheat your oven to 375°. Peel the exterior off of your parsnip fries. Slice them into 1/4″ strips and toss with a teaspoon or so of olive oil and salt and pepper to taste. Lay out on a baking sheet (on parchment paper if you like) and bake for around fifteen minutes. Flip them half way if you want them to bake a little more evenly.

Then eat!

You could add spices like paprika, garlic powder, onion power and more if you want!


My Story:

I had a parsnip sitting on my table. I bought it earlier this week. I didn’t know what I’d do with it, but I figured I’d use it.

Its time was running out. I had to find a use. Frantically I tore across the internet in search of favorable uses for an aging parsnip. I ran across a recipe similar to this on LoveandLemons.com and adapted it to fit my needs.

Before:

PARSNIP FRIES!

After:IMG_7335

I loved these. Not fried but baked, not potatoes but parsnips, not traditional but unique. A new (to me) twist on an old favorite. These could be a little stringy in some cases but that could have been the length of time my parsnip waited and waited. Crispy on the exterior, soft on the interior.

I don’t have a lot to say. Make them. Particularly if you’re looking for a quick snack packed with flavor and (I assume) nutrients. Make them tonight!

Do you have a go to snack? Perhaps it’s parsnip fries? Perhaps it will soon be? Let me know in the comments below! And I’m still open for requests- last time there were an overwhelming number of suggestions, but I’ll open this path again.

Hey, I hope you are doing well and staying healthy.

-Peter

Leave a Reply

