VGF Cheez Its!

Okay. This is crazy. I couldn’t stop eating them. Make them today. Really.

Cheez Its!

Recipe:

Vegan and Gluten Free Cheez Its!

Procedure:

Just follow the darned instructions. Well written and informative. You won’t be sorry.

Shopping List:

  • 3/4 c. Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free Flour
  • 1/2 tsp xantham gum
  • 1 c. Daiya vegan “cheese”
  • 3 Tbs Earth Balance butter, softened
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 Tb ice water

My Story:

If you have Xantham gum on hand, you almost have no excuse not to make these.

I owed a couple of friends for a huge favor. Last time I visited them, we were at the store and one (a gluten free vegan) told me that she sorely missed Cheez Its while we were browsing the Follow My Heart market. When I got home I started looking up recipes and rN across this one. It looked a little too simple but I figured I’d try it. Oh my. I didn’t know what I was in for.

IMG_7472 Cheez Its!

When they came out of the oven, I tried one. Bad choice. I was utilizing all of my self control the rest of the time I took them off the backing sheet. I tried to tell myself that I’d just have five. Err- ten. Well, just all the broken ones. Should I break some more? No no no.
I was shipping these to my friends and I knew that the only way it would happen was if I packed that box IMMEDIATELY. And sealed it. Address and all. I would have taken it to the post office then and there but it wasn’t open at nine pm.

Make these. I know I will. Find your xantham gum at a health food store if you don’t already have some (it’s not as expensive as I expected) and grab some Daiya cheese at the store on your way home after work. You’ll probably want to make a double batch.

You’ll thank me later.

I’m finally writing and publishing this days later because I didn’t want to ruin the surprise and my mouth is watering at the thought of these. Tomorrow. I’ll make fifty batches.

Maybe they’re not the most healthy.

But we’re Cheez Its originally?

Splurge sometime.

Health!
-Peter

Leave a Reply

