Chickpea Salad Sandwich!

Missing chicken salad? I’ve got the solution. Straight from the Simple Veganista!

IMG_7610

Recipe:

Chickpea Salad

Procedure:

Just follow the instructions! I used Veganaise in place of the hummus because that’s what I hand on hand, but I’m excited to try it with hummus too! I also left out the pepitos.

Shopping List:

  • 1 can (15 oz) chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 cup celery, sliced
  • 1/2 cup carrots, diced
  • 1/4 – 1/3 cup scallions, sliced
  • 1/4 cup or so hummus or tahini (any vegan mayo works too)
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons mustard (stoneground or dijon)
  • sea salt & cracked pepper, to taste
  • dash of garlic powder
  • juice of 1 lemon, optional
  • small handful pepitos (pumpkin seeds), optional
  • paprika/smoked paprika, garnish
  • bread (I’m using Dave’s Killer Bread- I like it!)
  • handful of greens

My Story:

I made something similar months ago and figured it would be a great lunch for several meals this week. It was fairly quick and easy to put together and simple to throw together for lunch!

IMG_7587IMG_7592

Last time I made this, I put half of chickpeas in a food processor at first, and I may like that more. It created a base (but I guess that’s what the hummus is too!) and then everything else was tossed in and pulsed. If you want some more texture, mashing may be the way to go. If you want it a little more smooth and creamy, try the food processor method! (Another bonus, less chopping of the other ingredients!)

IMG_7599 IMG_7602

This packed well into a Pyrex bowl and held together well for three days in the fridge at work! I’ll get another lunch out of it today, and maybe even a fourth!

IMG_7610

In my personal opinion, this could use a bit more flavor. I’ll do a little more mustard next time and add some paprika to the actual mix, not just for garnish. I’ve got some smoked bourbon paprika that will do the trick! It’s tasty how it is, but I think it could be more suited to my tastes next time. I just also heard about adding a chopped honeycrisp apple… I may have to make this again next week.

I should start working on more of my own recipes…

Do you have your own recipe for a Chick’n Salad? Recipe additive suggestions? Anything else you want to bring up? I’m here to hear! Let me know!

Be well.

-Peter

3 thoughts on “Chickpea Salad Sandwich!

  1. I finally tried it and loved it! It reminds me a bit of macaroni salad too, because of the flavor combination, and I’ve missed that so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

