Ravioli Pasta!

Ravioli Pasta. This is just the pasta itself, but you should get excited about the next few recipes for the fillings. I know I am.IMG_7769W

I’m separating them out because you probably don’t want to cook for four or five hours to finally eat at eleven thirty like me. There are four flavors of ravioli to be posted. You can cook them all together if you like! I was happy with that. Keep an eye out over the next few days for the recipes!

Recipe:

Ingredients/Shopping List:

  • 1 cup Semolina Flour
  • 1 cup All Purpose Flour (I used unbleached)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil (I used mild, but feel free to use EVOO)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Add ins of your choice!

Process:

I used my stand mixer. If you have access to one of these, hooray! Follow the instructions below. If not, jump down further.

Stand Mixer:

Add both flours and your salt to the bowl and mix until combined. Add the water, olive oil, and mix ins if using and, using the paddle attachment, mix until it combines into one cohesive mass. You may need to add a bit more flour or water as this process continues to get it to stick together. The measurements are guidelines and depend on your flour and conditions.

Swap out the paddle attachment for the dough hook and knead for three to four minutes until the ball is moist but not sticky. Divide into two and let sit for ten minutes.

By Hand:

Mix the flours and salt together in a large bowl. Make a small well in the middle to hold your oil and water (and mix ins if using). Mix together starting in the center and slowly combining the edges until you have a cohesive mass.

Remove dough from bowl and kneed on a lightly floured surface until the dough is smooth, elastic, and not sticky to the touch. Divide into two and let sit for ten minutes.

To Roll:

If you have a ravioli roller attachment for your stand mixer, I hope I don’t need to say more.

If you have a pasta roller or pasta rolling attachment for your stand mixer, use that. I rolled mine down to a three, whatever that means. I didn’t want my ravioli paper thin because I know I am not quite careful enough not to tear it.

Lay out one sheet, fill with scoops of toppings, dampen the area between fillings (I used my finger and a measuring cup of water), and seal the second sheet over the top. Cut, crimp with a fork, and cook in boiling water until they float!


My Story:

I’ve been needing to get more of my own recipes made. I love making other peoples’- experimenting, tweaking, and combining, but I’ll find things that I truly like if I make them exactly to my specifications! Also, I think I’ll really start to understand the things I make if I make them myself and figure out which flavors go well together.

So I made ravioli.

I couldn’t tell you what exactly it was that made me want to make these. I’ve always loved pasta. I also wanted something I could freeze and eat quickly later, as I go into the very busy weeks of my job. Did I mention that I like pasta?

I began to plot. I wanted ravioli, yes, but what kind? There are so many options!IMG_7735

I settled on four for one night. What are they? They’re coming.IMG_7751

Is the suspense killing you? It might kill me.

Here’s what I know. With this basic recipe as a starter, you can make any ravioli you like. How? I’ll show you. Check back soon.

Be healthy.

-Peter

8 thoughts on “Ravioli Pasta!

Leave a Reply

