Fried Rice and Creamed Kale!

There is a lot to be said.

But I know I don’t usually read that before I get to the recipe. So scroll down for a story! And first…

The recipe!

Recipe:

Okay, get ready. This was thrown together. It also made a bunch of extra rice and tofu scramble to eat the rest of the week. So adjust anything you want as much as you like. This is just what I did.

Ingredients/Shopping List:

  • 3 tbsp Olive Oil, separated
  • 1 1/2 cups White Jasmine Rice (use brown if you want! I just had this on hand.)
  • 3 cups Water
  • 1 block Extra Firm tofu, pressed (at least a little)
  • Turmeric- Maybe half a teaspoon?
  • Garlic Powder- Maybe a teaspoon?
  • Other spices you want- salt, pepper, cayenne…
  • One Yellow Onion, minced and divided
  • One Red Bell Pepper
  • Veggies- Peas, Corn, anything you like!
  • 1 Splash Soy sauce or something like that. I used Trader Joe’s Soyaki.

For the Kale:

  • Chopped Kale
  • 1/2 Cup (give or take) Veggie Broth
  • 1/4 Cup Coconut Cream (Trader Joe’s has a can- make sure you stir!)

Procedure:

This will be vague. That’s… uh… to give you license to make it your own. Nothing to do at all with my not keeping track of things as they happened.

  1. Cook the rice according to package directions (use that water!)
  2. Spread rice out to cool.
  3. Heat one tablespoon olive oil in a medium skillet over medium heat.
  4. Add half the minced onion and cook until translucent. Five ish minutes?
  5. Crumble the tofu into the pan, add the spices (Turmeric, garlic powder, I used cayenne and salt and pepper…)
  6. Scramble for about five minutes.
  7. Add the Diced red bell pepper and cook for 8-10 minutes.
  8. Put into tupperware. You’ll use a third of this.
  9. In the same pan, heat one tablespoon olive oil (over medium heat again!)
  10. Cook remaining onion for about five minutes or until translucent. Add vegetables for the final two minutes.
  11. Add one third of the rice, one third of the tofu scramble, and a splash of your Soy Sauce type… sauce. Cook for eight minutes or until rice is fried to your liking. You may need to add another splash of olive oil.
  12. That’s done!

The Kale:

  1. While that’s all happening, toss a tablespoon of olive oil, about half a cup veggie broth, and three tablespoons coconut cream. Oh, and a handful of kale. Remember that this cooks down, so volume wise, add about double the amount for which you’re Jonesin’.
  2. Cover and cook over medium heat for ten minutes.
  3. Remove cover and cook until it reaches the consistency you like!

Eat these two. And enjoy them. I know I did. And you’ll have rice and scramble left over!

 

IMG_9285 w.JPG

 


 My Story:

So. A few things have happened since we last met here. I quit my job, left my house, applied to grad schools, and was accepted to one on the other side of the country. This month I’m in NYC, visiting and living in my friend’s apartment while she’s out of town.

And why haven’t I written? I haven’t been cooking very interesting things. I’ve been spending more money than I should eating out. And I haven’t been eating very healthily. Today, as I decided to try getting back to a healthier lifestyle and spend less money doing it, I realized that this blog would keep me accountable. At least a little. Just knowing that you’re out there looking at this sometimes will make me try to post. To post, I’ll have to try to be healthy and cost effective. So there we go!

I’m not going to try to post every day. That’s part of what stopped me before. I’m going to aim for once a week. If I make something worth sharing and remember what I did outside of that, I’ll post!

It’s a start, yes?

Anyway, this recipe came from a few things. I was inspired by a few things- the blog ThePlantStrongVegan.com (particularly this post and this post), and the idea of getting more in control of my food finances. It’s so easy to spend money on things I don’t need. I figured some semblance of a plan would help! I thought about what I already had in the pantry and fried rice seemed like a smart start. I haven’t really seen much in the way of fried rice with an egg replacement, so this was my first attempt!  It’s all thrown together, so please adjust for your tastes. Mine was a little bland, so I would say maybe toss a bit more soy sauce in there and maybe some red pepper flakes! Just a sprinkle if you’re like me, though. Don’t go overboard and regret it.

I think that’s enough out of me for today.

You’re all awesome and welcome back. Thanks for being here- it can be a lonely world and I’m glad you’ve stopped by to hang out with me for a few. Let’s see if the blog sticks this time! Comment below if you have suggestions of smart ways to save on food. Or any additions to fried rice that you like!

Be Healthy,

Peter

6 thoughts on “Fried Rice and Creamed Kale!

  1. I think going to small vegetable stores/sellers helps me, because then I don’t get distracted by lots of really expensive and unnecessary things I run into at the supermarket. I wonder if those are easy to find in NY?

    Like

  2. Best way to eat healthy and cheap?
    TACO BELL!!!!
    I mean… Duhsies.

    But also, I think I will enjoy reading this. So, y’know, thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

