Kale and Black Bean Tacos!

“But Peter! When you said Creamed Kale, I went out and bought more kale than I know what to do with!”

Of course, the first answer is Kale Chips.

“But I, like you, bought chopped Kale with the ribs still in there! Also, I really want tacos.”

Well do I have the recipe for you!

Kale and Black Bean Tacos; The Recipe

Ingredients:

  • Some Creamed Kale
  • 2 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 3 cloves Garlic
  • 1 can Black Beans
  • 1/2 c frozen corn
  • Hot sauce (optional)
  • Olives (Optional)
  • Coconut Cream (Optional) (Who am I kidding? It’s all optional. I guess if you’re following my recipe, you want to know what I did. I added all of these.)
  • Small Corn Tortillas

Procedure:

  1. In a medium saucepan, make Creamed Kale. As much of it as you want for your tacos! I added more Red Pepper Flakes this time and let it cook down until it was thick and those ribs were tender.
  2. Add olive oil to small frying pan over medium-low heat. Add garlic and cook until fragrant. Fragrant? I don’t know. Don’t burn it. Maybe something like 5 minutes.
  3. Add the corn and black beans. Cook for a couple of minutes, stirring, and then crush the black beans with the back of a spoon as they cook. It’ll create a bit more of a paste that holds together. Continue cooking until it gets a little bit crusty on the edges. Mm.Toss a little hot sauce in there if you want!
  4. Put this in a bowl, so you can lightly toast your tortillas! Spritz the pan  with olive oil in the pan over medium heat, cook those tortillas. Get them crispy (or if you did it like me, just under crispy. Then you can still form them!)
  5. ASSEMBLE! Put a spoonful of kale, a spoonful of the Black Bean mixture, a small handful of olives, and a dollop (Dollop? Sure.) of coconut cream on top. Fold.
  6. Enjoy!
  7.      Oh no! They won’t hold themselves up! Better make some Mashed Potatoes to plop on the side and make them stand at attention. You don’t want taco fillings all over the place!
  8.      Fine, I was making this at the same time. It took like 20 minutes. Just fortunate that it was useful too. But look around. You can find any recipe online. Really quickly though (see that Adverb action, friend?), I scrubbed a bunch of red potatoes, sliced them in half, boiled them until they were fork tender (15 minutes?), mashed them, added some coconut cream (I think I’m on a coconut cream kick.), almond milk, salt, and pepper until it was smooth like I wanted it. And PLOP! You’re done.

IMG_9291w


My Story:

These turned out better than I thought they might. I just wanted something quick, cheap, and stuff I had on hand. So I worked on these and here we are. I don’t think that I knew what I was making when I started. But when I finished I was satisfied. I think the flavors of the black beans blah blah blah really compliment the blah blah blah and give you something you can really sink your teeth into, blah blah blah. I liked how the flavors mixed, end of story.

If you make enough for another meal’s worth, be careful when you’ve completed the plating to your satisfaction and you’re spooning the mashed potatoes and the rest into the tupperware, because you’ve probably balanced the plate at the edge of the sink because you don’t have much counter space and you want to get this done before you eat so you won’t take up all of the kitchen any longer, and you’ll knock the whole plate into the sink. Don’t worry too much, though, because you’ll have left a bowl in there so the plate tips and you only lose the contents of one taco. And the sink is clean so you just put it right back. You’ll then realize that you should put mashed potatoes on both sides of the tacos to hold them up even if you throw the plate into the sink.

No?

Just me?

Huh.

 

Be healthy,

Peter

Leave a Reply

